A sun football conference


Is ASUN a Division 1 conference?

The ASUN, a Division I conference member of the NCAA, boasts a membership of institutions that share visionary leadership, bold ambition and creative innovation.

Does ASUN Conference have football?

ATLANTA, Ga. – The ASUN Conference announced its 2022 Football schedule today officially marking the second season of competition for the league.

What teams are in the ASUN football conference?

Six teams (Austin Peay, Central Arkansas, Eastern Kentucky, Kennesaw State, North Alabama) are set to face each other one time throughout the season providing five conference games per squad.


The ASUN and the WAC, who formed new FCS football-playing conferences in January of 2021, are extending their alliance for the 2022 season and the foreseeable future. They will combine as one joint league with one auto-bid into the FCS playoffs.

Does WAC have football?

Austin State University, all currently of the Southland Conference, along with Southern Utah University, currently of the Big Sky Conference….Western Athletic Conference football.WAC football championsSportFootballConferenceWestern Athletic ConferenceNumber of teams9Played1962–2012, 2021–present5 more rows

Who is in Big East Conference?

Big East Conference, American collegiate athletic association that consists of Butler, Creighton, DePaul, Georgetown, Marquette, St. John’s, Seton Hall, Villanova, and Xavier universities and Providence College.

What conference is Kennesaw State moving to?

2021 Kennesaw State University Football – Schedule – Big South Conference.

What conference is Eastern Kentucky University moving to?

the ASUN ConferenceRICHMOND, Ky. – Eastern Kentucky University and all 16 of its athletics teams officially joined the ASUN Conference today, July 1, 2021. All EKU teams will be immediately eligible for conference awards, postseason play and NCAA Tournament automatic bids.

What Division is the Sun conference?

The Sun Conference (TSC) is a college athletic conference affiliated with the NAIA. Eight of the twelve full member institutions are located in Florida, with three in Georgia and one in South Carolina. The Sun Conference competes in the NAIA in all sponsored sports….Sun ConferenceWebsitethesunconference.comLocations11 more rows

What is the ASUN conference?

The ASUN Conference, formerly the Atlantic Sun Conference, is a collegiate athletic conference operating mostly in the Southeastern United States. The league participates at the NCAA Division I level, and will begin sponsoring football at the Division I FCS level in 2022.

When will the University of Central Arkansas join the ASUN?

The ASUN officially announced the addition of the University of Central Arkansas, Eastern Kentucky University and Jacksonville State University, as incoming members on January 29, 2021, also announcing the addition of football in the Football Championship Subdivision (FCS). The ASUN statement, however, did not specify when conference competition in …

What is the ASUN 7?

Then, on July 1 of that year, the seven longest-tenured full ASUN members, which it called the “ASUN 7”, would have joined the CCSA, which would officially adopt the ASUN name as an all-sports conference. The remaining full members of the pre-split ASUN would then adopt the new name of United Athletic Conference.

What division is Bellarmine University in?

Most recently, in 2020–21 with the arrival of Bellarmine University from the Division II Great Lakes Valley Conference and the departure of NJIT to the America East Conference.

When will the NCAA Division 1 football league be renamed?

The league participates at the NCAA Division I level, and will begin sponsoring football at the Division I FCS level in 2022. Originally established as the Trans America Athletic Conference ( TAAC) in 1978, it was renamed as the Atlantic Sun Conference in 2001, and then rebranded as the ASUN Conference in 2016.

What is the ASUN swimming association?

In 2008, the ASUN, in an agreement with the Southern Conference (SoCon), Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC), and Big South Conference, formed the Coastal Collegiate Swimming Association (CCSA) for schools sponsoring men’s and women’s swimming and diving within the associated conferences.

Is the ASUN conference split?

The conference announced in January 2020 that it was exploring an especially radical scenario that would eventually result in a split into two all-sports conferences, though it had not committed to this plan.

Where is Eastern Kentucky football 2021?

Eastern Kentucky announces 2021 football schedule. The Eastern Kentucky Colonels have announced their 2021 football schedule, which features a game at Louisville.

How many games will the Jacksonville State Gamecocks play in 2021?

The Jacksonville State Gamecocks have announced their 2021 football schedule, which includes five contests at home and 11 games overall.

What are the Sun Belt conferences?

The Sun Belt Conference was founded on August 4, 1976 with the University of New Orleans, the University of South Alabama, Georgia State University, Jacksonville University, the University of North Carolina at Charlotte, and the University of South Florida. Over the next ten years the conference would add Western Kentucky University, Old Dominion University, the University of Alabama at Birmingham, and Virginia Commonwealth University. New Orleans was forced out of the league in 1980 due to its small on-campus gymnasium that the Conference did not deem suitable for Conference competition. UNO competed as an independent before joining the newly formed American South Conference in 1987.

What are the divisions of the football conference?

The conference announced that beginning in 2018, the conference (10 teams) will be divided into two divisions for football: East: Appalachian State, Coastal Carolina, Georgia Southern, Georgia State, and Troy; West: Arkansas State, Louisiana, Louisiana–Monroe, South Alabama, and Texas State. The winner of each division will meet in …

Why did Central Florida leave the Sun Belt?

Central Florida left the league following the 1991–92 academic year due to a dispute over television rights, among other reasons.

Which conference dropped football after the 2012 season?

The large number of defections from the WAC forced that conference to drop football after the 2012 season. Idaho and New Mexico State were the only remaining WAC members that sponsored football, and competed as FBS independents for the 2013 season before competing in the Sun Belt in 2014.

When did the Sun Belt get the invite?

The Sun Belt also granted football-only invites to Idaho and New Mexico State on March 28, 2013.

When did Georgia Southern join the Sun Belt?

Appalachian State University accepted an invitation on March 27, 2013 to join the Sun Belt effective July 1, 2014. Georgia Southern University accepted a similar Sun Belt invitation at the same time as Appalachian State. Appalachian State and Georgia Southern both joined for all sports from the Southern Conference on July 1, 2014.

When did Western Kentucky join the Sun Belt?

Longtime Sun Belt member Western Kentucky joined the Sun Belt’s football conference in 2009 after its Board of Regents voted to upgrade the school’s football program to Division I FBS. On November 11, 2009, New Orleans announced it was investigating a move from Division I to the NCAA’s Division III.


Leave a Comment