How many teams are in the big ten conference



What teams are in the Big 10 Conference?

UNDATED (AP) — Michigan is trying to play its way back into Big Ten title contention. No. 16 Ohio State is trying to stay there. And Saturday’s big game could dictate whether either team remains in the hunt. The defending regular-season champion Wolverines will be facing their biggest rival on the end of a four-games-in-eight-days stretch.

How many teams are in the Big Ten Conference?

The Big Ten Conference (stylized B1G, formerly the Western Conference and the Big Nine Conference) is the oldest Division I collegiate athletic conference in the United States. It is based in Rosemont, Illinois. For many decades this conference consisted of ten universities, and presently has 14 members and two affiliate institutions.

Who is the best team in the Big Ten?


  • Three-point improvement. …
  • GAME INFO. …
  • MINNESOTA GOPHERS (4-0) Pos.-Player Ht. …
  • Coach: Ben Johnson 4-0 (1st season) Notable: Sutherlin led the Gophers with 19 points on 7-for-7 shooting from the field and seven rebounds in last Friday’s victory against Purdue Fort …
  • JACKSONVILLE DOLPHINS (2-1) Pos.-Player Ht. …

What teams are members of the Big Ten?

  • ^ Johns Hopkins was added in 2014 as an associate member that competed in men’s lacrosse only. …
  • ^ Maryland won 196 conference championships as a member of the Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC), second most in ACC history.
  • ^ Nebraska won 80 conference championships as a member of the Big 12 Conference, second most in Big 12 history. …

More items…

See more


What are the 14 teams in the Big 10?

With the 2014 conference expansion, the divisions were realigned and renamed East and West. The East features Indiana, Maryland, Michigan, Michigan State, Ohio State, Penn State, and Rutgers, while the West comprises Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Nebraska, Northwestern, Purdue, and Wisconsin.

How many teams make up the Big 10?

14 membersFor many decades this conference consisted of ten universities, and presently has 14 members and two affiliate institutions.

How many teams are in the Big 12?

Its 10 members, in the states of Iowa, Kansas, Oklahoma, Texas and West Virginia, include eight public and two private Christian universities. Additionally, the Big 12 has 12 affiliate members — eight for the sport of wrestling, one for women’s equestrianism, one for women’s gymnastics and two for women’s rowing.

Why is it called the Big Ten?

The conference uses the “B1G” character combination in its branding, noting that it “allows fans to see ‘BIG’ and ’10’ in a single word.” Big Ten member institutions are predominantly major flagship research universities that have large financial endowments and are well-regarded academically.

What is the smallest Big 10 school?

Northwestern UniversityUndergraduate Enrollment: Northwestern University is obviously the smallest of the schools in the Big Ten while The Ohio State University is the largest.

Why did Chicago leave the Big Ten?

In the late 1930s, university president Robert Maynard Hutchins decided that big-time college football and the university’s commitment to academics were not compatible. The University of Chicago abolished its football program in 1939 and withdrew from the Big Ten in 1946.

Is Texas leaving the Big 12?

Oklahoma and Texas announced late last summer that they were leaving the Big 12 to become members of the Southeastern Conference. Since that announcement, the Big 12 has come to agreement with four new schools to join the conference as early as the 2023 season.

Why does Big 12 have 10 teams?

The Big 12 has been a 10-team conference since 2011 when Nebraska and Colorado left to join the Big 10 and Pac-12, respectively. In 2012, Texas A&M and Missouri left the conference to join the SEC and were replaced by TCU and West Virginia. Click here to listen to the newest episode of Big Game Friday Morning.

Will the Big 12 add more teams?

Assuming BYU, Cincinnati, Houston and UCF join ahead of the 2023-24 athletic year, the league would be at 14 teams for two seasons in 2023 and 2024….Big 12 engaged in plans to split into two seven-team divisions beginning in 2023 amid realignment.Big 12 NorthBig 12 SouthKansasTexasKansas StateTexas Tech5 more rows•Jan 18, 2022

Why is Notre Dame not in the Big Ten?

Big Ten teams are going to start playing nine conference games per year, leaving the ability to schedule only three out of conference contests each season. Notre Dame plays a national schedule each and every season, usually with at least one game on each coast and a handful somewhere in between.

What is the biggest Big 10 school?

Comparing Big Ten Schools Penn State has the largest undergraduate enrollment at almost 46,000. Northwestern has the smallest at 8,327.

What is the oldest Big Ten school?

1. The oldest American collegiate athletic conference is Division III’s Michigan Intercollegiate Athletic Association, founded in 1888. 2. The University of Michigan left the conference in 1907, then rejoined in 1917….The Big Ten Conference.Year joined conference1896 2School nameUniversity of MichiganYear founded1817Enroll- ment39,03110 more columns



Initiated and led by Purdue University President James Henry Smart, the presidents of the University of Chicago, University of Illinois, University of Minnesota, University of Wisconsin, Northwestern University, Purdue University and Lake Forest College met in Chicago on January 11, 1895, to discuss the regulation and control of intercollegiate athletics. The eligibility of student-athl…


The office of the commissioner of athletics was created in 1922 “to study athletic problems of the various member universities and assist in enforcing the eligibility rules which govern Big Ten athletics.”
With the exception of Nebraska, each Big Ten institution is a member of the American Association of Universities and is ranked in the US News & World Report top 100 and the Times Higher Educati…

Schools ranked by revenue

The schools below are listed by conference rank of total revenue. Total revenue includes ticket sales, contributions and donations, rights/licensing, student fees, school funds and all other sources including TV income, camp income, food and novelties. Total expenses includes coaching/staff, scholarships, buildings/ground, maintenance, utilities and rental fees and all other costs including recruiting, team travel, equipment and uniforms, conference dues and insurance …

Conference records

For Big Ten records, by sport (not including football), see footnote

Conference titles

For Big Ten championships, by year, see footnote
1. ^ Johns Hopkins was added in 2014 as an associate member that competed in men’s lacrosse only. Johns Hopkins also began competing as an associate member in women’s lacrosse in the 2016–17 school year.
2. ^ Maryland won 196 conference championships as a member of the Atlantic Coast Conference (ACC), second most in ACC history.


When Maryland and Rutgers joined the Big Ten in 2014, the division names were changed to “East” and “West”, with Purdue and the six schools in the Central Time Zone in the West and Indiana joining the remaining six Eastern Time Zone schools in the East. The only protected cross-division game is Indiana–Purdue. Beginning in 2016, the Big Ten adopted a nine-game conference schedule. All teams have one cross-division opponent they play annually that changes every six …

Men’s basketball

The Big Ten has participated in basketball since 1904, and has led the nation in attendance every season since 1978. It has been a national powerhouse in men’s basketball, having multiple championship winners and often sending four or more teams to the NCAA Men’s Basketball Tournament. Previous NCAA champions include Indiana with five titles, Michigan State with two, and Wisconsin, Michigan, and Ohio State with one each. Maryland, which joined the Big Ten in 2…

Leave a Comment