What college football teams are in the mountain west conference


2021 Football Standings
School School MW
Utah State Utah State 6-2
Air Force Air Force 6-2
Boise State Boise State 5-3

10 more rows

What schools make up the Mountain West Conference?

The charter members of the MW included the United States Air Force Academy, Brigham Young University, Colorado State University, San Diego State University, the University of New Mexico, the University of Nevada, Las Vegas, University of Utah and the University of Wyoming.

How many football teams are in the Mountain West?

The 2021 Mountain West Conference football season, part of this year’s NCAA Division I FBS football season was the 23rd season of college football for the Mountain West Conference (MW). Since 2012, 12 teams have competed in the Mountain West Conference.

Who is in Mountain West Football Conference?

Currently, the MW has two divisions, the Mountain (Air Force, Boise State, Colorado State, New Mexico, Utah State and Wyoming) and the West (Fresno State, Hawaii, Nevada, San Diego State, San Jose State and UNLV).

Who is in the Pac 12?

The Pac-12 North includes Oregon State, Oregon, Stanford, Washington State, Washington, and Cal-Berkeley. The Pac-12 South teams are Arizona State, Arizona, UCLA, USC, Colorado, and Utah. Four additional schools compete in Pac-12 competitions for certain sports as affiliate universities.

What states are in the Mountain West?

The Mountain States are considered to include: Arizona, Colorado, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Utah, and Wyoming.

How many schools are in the Mountain West Conference?

Eleven schools are “full members”, meaning that they play almost all of their sports in the MW.

Is BYU in the Mountain West?

“BYU is a member of the Mountain West,” Thompson says, adding that the nine-team MWC “is soon to be an 11-team league.”

When did byu leave the Mountain West?

August 31, 2010Membership changesSchoolSport(s)Date move was announcedFresno State BulldogsFull membershipAugust 18, 2010Nevada Wolf PackFull membershipAugust 18, 2010BYU CougarsFull membership (non-football)August 31, 2010BYU CougarsFootballAugust 31, 20109 more rows

What conference is BYU football team in?

NCAA Division I FBS Independent SchoolsBYU Cougars football / Conference

Who was in the Pac 8?

A new Conference was formed – the Athletic Association of Western Universities consisting of California, Stanford, Southern California, UCLA, and Washington. Washington State joined in 1962, and Oregon and Oregon State joined in 1964. In 1968, the name Pacific-8 Conference was adopted.

What schools were added to the Pac-10?

The Pac-10 capped its expansion push at 12 by adding Utah on Wednesday, setting the stage for Arizona to join the Utes and Colorado in a southern division along with ASU and the Los Angeles schools.

How many schools are in the Pac-12?

twelveMember schools The Pac-12 has twelve full member institutions. Football used to be the only sport where the conference is split into two divisions, the North Division and the South Division.

What is the Mountain West Conference?

For the former women’s athletic conference, see Mountain West Athletic Conference. The Mountain West Conference ( MW) is one of the collegiate athletic conferences affiliated with the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) …

What sports does the Mountain West Conference sponsor?

Sports. The Mountain West Conference sponsors championship competition in eight men’s and ten women’s NCAA sanctioned sports . Hawai’i is only an associate member for football, and Colorado College is only an associate member for women’s soccer.

How many members are there in the Western Athletic Conference?

The Western Athletic Conference, which had initially announced plans to expand beyond its then-current 10 members to at least 12, ended up with even more potential expansion prospects. Ultimately, the WAC took in three of the four SWC schools left out of the Big 12 merger— Rice University, Southern Methodist University (SMU), and Texas Christian University (TCU). Three other schools were added to bring the total membership to 16, namely Big West Conference members San Jose State University and UNLV, plus the University of Tulsa, an NCAA football independent and otherwise a member of the Missouri Valley Conference. The WAC’s 16 teams were divided into four four-team “quadrants”, two of which rotated between the Mountain and Pacific Divisions every two years. However, the newly expanded WAC was soon wracked by tension between the established and new members.

How many times has ESPN won the football bowl?

The conference has won it four times, more than any other conference, by finishing with bowl game records of 2-1 in 2004–05, 4-1 in 2007–08, 4-1 in 2009–10, and 4-1 in 2010–11.

How many teams were there in the Mountain West Conference in 2012?

These changes would leave the Mountain West Conference with 10 teams for the 2012 football season.

What universities are part of the MW?

The charter members of the MW included the United States Air Force Academy, Brigham Young University, Colorado State University, San Diego State University, the University of New Mexico, the University of Nevada, Las Vegas, University of Utah and the University of Wyoming. Before forming the Mountain West Conference, …

When did TCU join the MW?

The next move for the MW came in 2005, when the conference added TCU, who had spent the previous four seasons in Conference USA (C-USA).





Logo of the Utah State Aggies

Utah State Aggies 62 113 33 80 W3

Logo of the Air Force Falcons

Air Force Falcons 62 103 43 60 W4

Logo of the Boise State Broncos

Boise State Broncos 53 75 33 42 L1

Logo of the Wyoming Cowboys

Wyoming Cowboys 26 76 43 33 W1

Logo of the Colorado State Rams

Colorado State Rams 26 39 15 24 L6

Logo of the New Mexico Lobos

New Mexico Lobos 17 39 24 15 L4

Logo of the San Diego State Aztecs

San Diego State Aztecs 71 122 72 50 W1

Logo of the Fresno State Bulldogs

Fresno State Bulldogs 62 103 61 42 W3

Logo of the Nevada Wolf Pack

Nevada Wolf Pack 53 85 51 34 L1

Logo of the Hawaii Warriors

Hawaii Warriors 35 67 42 25 W2

Logo of the San Jose State Spartans

San Jose State Spartans 35 57 33 24 L3

Logo of the UNLV Rebels

UNLV Rebels 26 210 15 15 L2


Men’s Basketball


External links

The creation of the MW was a delayed aftereffect of the 1996 NCAA conference realignment, which had initially been triggered two years earlier when the Big Eight Conference agreed to merge with four members of the Southwest Conference (SWC) to create the Big 12 Conference, which would begin competition in the 1996–97 school year.

Leave a Comment