What conference is furman in


What division is Furman University in?

Athletics. The university is a member of the Southern Conference. Furman is the only liberal arts college to be ranked in Sports Illustrated Top-100 America’s Best Sports Colleges and has 32 former student-athletes competing at the professional level – the most of any Southern Conference member school.

Who is Furman University’s president?

Elizabeth Davis became Furman’s President on July 1, 2014. She is the 12th president of the institution, or 16th when also counting interim presidents. Twelve senior administrators manage academic and administrative departments.

What is Furman arena known for?

Informally known as “The Country Club of the South,” Furman was named one of the 362 most beautiful places in America by the American Society of Landscape Architects . Timmons Arena is a 4,000-seat multi-purpose arena in Greenville, in the U.S. state of South Carolina.

When did Furman University close?

The University closed from 1861 to 1866, when “most students and several faculty members enlisted in the Confederate forces.” The Furman Institution Faculty Residence serves as a visible reminder of the early history of Furman University and its brief establishment in Fairfield County. Furman University has been in its current location since 1958.


What schools make up the Southern Conference?

There are nine football playing members of the Southern Conference: Appalachian State, Chattanooga, The Citadel, Elon, Furman, Georgia Southern, Samford, Western Carolina, and Wofford.

How many teams are in the Southern Conference?

Current members. The all-sports membership changed to 10 schools in 2014 following the departure of Appalachian State, Davidson, Elon, and Georgia Southern, plus the arrival of East Tennessee State (ETSU), Mercer, and VMI. The current football membership stands at nine.

What basketball conference is Furman in?

Southern ConferenceFurman Paladins men’s basketball / Conference

What teams are playing in the Southern Conference?

Southern TEAMSChattanooga Mocs. Schedule | Statistics | Roster | Photos | Recruiting | News | Boards.East Tennessee State Buccaneers. Schedule | Statistics | Roster | Photos | Recruiting | News | Boards.Furman Paladins. … Mercer Bears. … Samford Bulldogs. … The Citadel Bulldogs. … UNC Greensboro Spartans. … VMI Keydets.More items…

What division is Furman football?

NCAA Division I Football Championship SubdivisionFurman Paladins football / Division

Who is in Big East Conference?

Big East Conference, American collegiate athletic association that consists of Butler, Creighton, DePaul, Georgetown, Marquette, St. John’s, Seton Hall, Villanova, and Xavier universities and Providence College.

Who is in the Southern Conference NBA?

The division consists of five teams, the Atlanta Hawks, the Charlotte Hornets, the Miami Heat, the Orlando Magic and the Washington Wizards.

Who won the Southern Conference?

Champions: 1933–presentYearChampion(s)Conference record2016The Citadel8–02017Wofford7–12018East Tennessee State Wofford Furman6–22019Wofford7-185 more rows

Are Duke and UNC in the same conference?

Current members of the conference are Boston College, Clemson University, Duke University, Georgia Institute of Technology, Florida State University, North Carolina State University, Syracuse University, the University of Louisville, the University of Miami, the University of North Carolina, the University of Notre …

Who is in the Atlantic 10 basketball conference?

2021-22 Men’s Basketball StandingsSchoolSchoolA10DaytonDayton14-4St. BonaventureSt. Bonaventure12-5Saint LouisSaint Louis12-6RichmondRichmond10-810 more rows

Is Furman University d1?

With 18 NCAA Division I teams and dozens of club and intramural squads, it’s easy to find a game on our campus—even if you just want to sit in the stands and root for the home team.

What conference is the Citadel?

Southern ConferenceThe Citadel Bulldogs football / Conference



Furman competes in NCAA Division I athletics, and at the FCS (Football Championship Subdivision) level in football and is one of the smallest NCAA Division I schools in the nation. Furman fields 18 men’s and women’s teams, as well as 16 club sports and many intramural teams. The university is a member of the Southern Conference.


Furman Academy and Theological Institution was established by the South Carolina Baptist Convention and incorporated in December 1825 in Edgefield. With 10 students, it held its first classes January 15, 1828; another source says it opened in January 1827. Through 1850, average enrollment was 10 students, and it constantly tottered on the edge of insolvency. From 1829 to 1834, it ope…

Organization and administration

Leadership and guidance to the university is provided by a board of trustees, whose 36 members meet at least three times per academic year and are elected for three-year terms. Former board members may be designated as ‘Trustees Emeriti’. These include former Governor and U.S. secretary of education Richard Riley. As of 2017 , current board members include Robert Blocker, dean of the …


Furman offers majors and programs in 42 subjects. All students must complete general education requirements as part of the liberal arts curriculum. The general education requirements include mind and body wellness, textual analysis, two natural sciences, math/formal reasoning, two empirical studies of human behavior, history, ultimate question, foreign language, and world cultur…


In 2019, Furman University was the highest-ranked institution of higher learning in South Carolina and one of the best universities of the South of US by Forbes, and the fifth-best liberal arts college in the South by U.S. News & World Report. For 2020, it was also ranked #5 most innovative liberal arts college by U.S. News. It is considered to be a “more selective” school. Furman is also featured in The Princeton Review’s “Best 378 Colleges” list, where it is named a “Best Southeastern Colleg…


Furman University’s campus is located at the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains in the upstate region of South Carolina. A 40-acre (16.2 ha) lake is a highlight of the 750-acre (304 ha) wooded campus. Paris Mountain State Park overlooks the lake and campus. Most buildings are of Georgian-style architecture. Many academic buildings and student residences stand around the lake, including the Bell Tower, which figures highly in school insignias and is a replica of the tow…

Environmental sustainability

Furman University sustainability efforts have been in keeping with national standards. Furman works to conserve, reduce, and recycle on campus, has constructed green buildings and provided students with alternative transportation. Furman has its own farm on campus. The Furman Farm is a quarter-acre garden located beside the Cliffs Cottage and the Furman Lake. A wide variety of produce is grown throughout the year using sustainable agricultural practices such as crop rotat…

Leave a Comment