What conference is utah state in


The Utah State Aggies are the athletic teams that represent Utah State University. The school fields 16 sports teams – seven men and nine women – and compete in the Mountain West Conference.

Why is Utah State called the Aggies?

Why is Utah called the Aggies? A ggie name and mascot The name Aggies, short for Agriculturalists, is a fixture of many universities that began as land-grant and agricultural colleges. Early USU sports teams were sometimes simply referred to as the “Farmers” as well as the Aggies, though the former name was never official.

What state is between Utah and California?

The total driving distance from Utah to California is 739 miles or 1 189 kilometers. Your trip begins in the state of Utah. It ends in the state of California. If you are planning a road trip, you might also want to calculate the total driving time from Utah to California so you can see when you’ll arrive at your destination.

What is the largest state in Utah?

Utah is popular as the “crossroads of the west” due to its central location in the intermountain west. [4] This state is the 13th largest state by area —219,887 km². Utah is divided into three geographical areas—Basin and Ridge region, Colorado Plateau, Rocky Mountains.

What is Utah recognized for?

The group celebrates and recognizes achievements in the business community to foster ongoing success while educating, enlightening, and providing expertise to members to facilitate strong business relationships. “Coalatree is excited to have received one of the Utah 100 awards,” said Mountain West Capital Spokesperson.

See more


What schools make up the Mountain West Conference?

The charter members of the MW included the United States Air Force Academy, Brigham Young University, Colorado State University, San Diego State University, the University of New Mexico, the University of Nevada, Las Vegas, University of Utah and the University of Wyoming.

How many teams are in the Mountain West Conference?

12 teamsThe 2021 Mountain West Conference football season, part of this year’s NCAA Division I FBS football season was the 23rd season of college football for the Mountain West Conference (MW). Since 2012, 12 teams have competed in the Mountain West Conference.

What happened to the Mountain West Conference?

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. – The Mountain West announced Friday that beginning with the 2023 season, the league will eliminate its two-division format. The two teams with the highest Conference winning percentage will compete in the championship game.

What football division is Utah State in?

NCAA Division IThe Utah State Aggies are a college football team that competes in the Mountain West Conference (MWC) of the Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) of NCAA Division I, representing Utah State University.

Who is in the Pac-12 football Conference?

The Pac-12 North includes Oregon State, Oregon, Stanford, Washington State, Washington, and Cal-Berkeley. The Pac-12 South teams are Arizona State, Arizona, UCLA, USC, Colorado, and Utah.

How many teams are in the Pac-12?

twelveThe Pac-12 has twelve full member institutions.

Can the Big 12 survive?

The Big 12 is expanding to survive, not to boost their collection of research grants. AAU status may be a big deal for the Big Ten and the Pac-12, but not for the league with West Virginia, Texas Tech and Kansas State as current members.

What Conference is csu?

NCAA Mountain West Conference FootballColorado State Rams football / Conference

Is BYU in the Mountain West?

“BYU is a member of the Mountain West,” Thompson says, adding that the nine-team MWC “is soon to be an 11-team league.”

Who are the teams in the Mountain West Conference?

Mountain West TEAMSAir Force Falcons. Schedule | Statistics | Roster | Photos | Recruiting | News | Boards.Boise State Broncos. Schedule | Statistics | Roster | Photos | Recruiting | News | Boards.Colorado State Rams. … Fresno State Bulldogs. … Nevada Wolf Pack. … New Mexico Lobos. … San Diego State Aztecs. … San José State Spartans.More items…

Is Utah State University d1?

USU’s athletic teams compete in Division I of the NCAA and are collectively known as the Utah State Aggies.

Who is in Mountain West football Conference?

Currently, the MW has two divisions, the Mountain (Air Force, Boise State, Colorado State, New Mexico, Utah State and Wyoming) and the West (Fresno State, Hawaii, Nevada, San Diego State, San Jose State and UNLV).

The latest reports on AAC and MWC realignment

Per a report by CBS Sports’ Dennis Dodd last Thursday, the AAC has focused on recruiting a a group of mainly MWC schools — Air Force, Boise State, Colorado State, San Diego State and UAB — to replace the departing Bearcats, Cougars and Knights.

Why join the AAC?

The appeal of AAC membership lies in its current television contract with ESPN, which currently pays an estimated $6 million per school per year, Zeigler writes.

The MWC responds

In response to Aresco and reports about MWC teams being approached by the AAC, MWC commissioner Craig Thompson told the San Diego Union Tribune “maybe it’s a personality flaw, people saying you’ve got to be like (Aresco). But who listens to AAC rhetoric? Who’s bought into the Power Six? I don’t think their full membership even has.

What does it all mean for the Aggies?

If the MWC does lose teams, geographically speaking the conferences that would make most sense to look at for new members would be Conference USA (the conference has four schools in Texas, including UTSA, UTEP, Rice and North Texas) or the Big Sky at the FCS level, with independent New Mexico State another option.

When did Utah State join the Mountain West Conference?

Later on, Utah State joined the Mountain West Conference in July 2013, again following departures by Utah and BYU.

What are the rivals of Utah State?

Older rivals include Brigham Young University (Battle for the Old Wagon Wheel/Beehive Boot Trophy), the University of Utah (Battle of the Brothers/Beehive Boot Trophy), and the University of Wyoming (Bridger’s Battle).

How many championships has Utah State won?

The Utah State college football program began in 1892 and has played home games at Merlin Olsen Field at Maverik Stadium since 1968. They have won twelve conference championships in four different conferences during their history, most recently in 2012.

What division is the Utah State Aggies?

The Utah State Aggies are a college football team that competes in the Mountain West Conference (MWC) of the Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) of NCAA Division I , representing Utah State University.

Who is the coach of the Utah State Aggies?

On November 7, 2020, Andersen and Utah State agreed to part ways after starting 0–3 during the 2020 season. Defensive coordinator Frank Maile was named the interim head coach of the Utah State Aggies for the remainder of the season.

When was the first intercollegiate game?

The first intercollegiate athletic event in Utah State University’s history took place on November 25, 1892, when the Agriculturalists defeated the football team from the University of Utah, 12–0. The game was played on what is now the quad, and it was the only game until 1896.



Conference affiliations


Head coaches



Notable players

External links

Utah State has been affiliated with multiple conferences and played as an independent.
• Independent (1892–1901)
• Colorado Football Association (1902–1908)
• Unknown (1909–1913)
• Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference (1914–1937)

Leave a Comment