Who is in the western athletic conference


Current members

Institution Location Founded Joined Nickname
Abilene Christian University Abilene, Texas 1906 2021 Wildcats
California Baptist University Riverside, California 1950 2018 Lancers
Chicago State University [a] Chicago, Illinois 1867 2013 Cougars
Grand Canyon University Phoenix, Arizona 1949 2013 Antelopes

Jun 12 2022

2021-22 Baseball Standings
Conf Overall
School WAC Last 10
Grand Canyon 25-5 6-4
California Baptist 18-12 7-3
Sacramento State 17-13 7-3

4 more rows


What is the Western Athletic Conference?

The Western Athletic Conference is one of the longest running associations of original-member schools in the state of Kansas. Established in 1984, the WAC consists of Dodge City, Garden City, Great Bend, Hays, and Liberal high schools.

What conference has announced a football partnership with the WAC?

^ a b “ASUN, WAC Conferences Announce Football Partnership for 2021” (Press release). ASUN Conference. February 23, 2021. Retrieved February 23, 2021. ^ a b “From the Commissioner’s Desk: @ASUN_Football Update” (Press release). ASUN Conference. February 23, 2021. Retrieved February 23, 2021.

What happened to the Western Athletic Conference in 1990?

The WAC merged with the High Country Athletic Conference, a parallel organization to the WAC for women’s athletics, in 1990 to unify both men’s and women’s athletics under one administrative structure. In 1996, the WAC expanded again, adding six schools to its ranks for a total of sixteen.

Is Utah State headed to the Mountain West Conference?

“Utah State is headed for Mountain West Conference”. Salt Lake Tribune. Archived from the original on November 1, 2017. Retrieved December 30, 2017. ^ Brett McMurphy (May 2, 2012). “Conference USA reloading by adding 6 schools”. CBS Sports. Archived from the original on May 10, 2012.


What teams make up the Western Athletic Conference?

WAC TEAMSAbilene Christian Wildcats. Schedule | Statistics | Roster | Photos | Recruiting | News | Boards.California Baptist Lancers. … Chicago State Cougars. … Dixie State Trailblazers. … Grand Canyon Antelopes. … Lamar Cardinals. … New Mexico State Aggies. … Sam Houston Bearkats.More items…

Who is in the Western Athletic Conference football?

The new members announced include: Abilene Christian University, Lamar University, Sam Houston State University, and Stephen F. Austin State University, all currently of the Southland Conference, along with Southern Utah University, currently of the Big Sky Conference.

How many teams are in the WAC?

16The Aggies went on to win their first-ever WAC Tournament title and an NCAA Regional appearance for the first time since 2012. The Aggies were outstanding in the classroom as well, with all 16 men’s and women’s teams cumulative grade point averages combined are at or above a 3.00 for 22 of the last 26 semesters.

Who were the original members of the Western Athletic Conference?

The WAC’s history traces back to July 27, 1962, when the original six-team league of Arizona, Arizona State, Brigham Young, New Mexico, Utah and Wyoming began competition.

Is BYU in the WAC?

October 1961: The WAC is created On October 11, 1961, BYU was a founding member of the Western Athletic Conference.

When did BYU leave the WAC?

Part of BYU’s move to football independence in 2010 originally included a deal to put the school’s other sports in the WAC, but it was eventually scuttled when the Mountain West Conference invited then-WAC members Nevada and Fresno State.

What conference will Chicago State join?

A tweet published by Major Madness Monday night indicated that school presidents voted 6-2 against adding Chicago State University to the MEAC. “The MEAC now hinges upon Howard’s decision to join CAA,” a portion of the tweet read.

What conference is BYU in?

NCAA Division I FBS Independent SchoolsBYU Cougars football / Conference

What conference is Notre Dame in?

NCAA Division I FBS Independent SchoolsNotre Dame Fighting Irish football / Conference

Leave a Comment